Children's book for cochlear implant & hearing aid user
0845 463 2302
skip to the main content area of this page
Testimonials of My Brother John

Raise deaf awareness and cochlear implant awareness


 

NDCS Review My Brother John is wonderful

9/30/2008 9:00:00 AM Vicki Kirwen, NDCS


National Deaf Childrens Society reviewed the book in September 2008, "It's a wonderful and subtle deaf awareness aid ... What a little treasure." writes Vicki Kirwen. "My Brother John deftly introduces readers and listeners to the whole concept of cochlear implants.It deals in a down to earth way with the questions hearing chidlren and adults have about what implants do and how they attach to the head."


Vicki Kirwen
NDCS


RNID Royal National Institute for the Deaf

10/30/2008 9:00:00 AM Andrew and William Palmer, RNID


Book of the Month : "An endearing book ... From my experience as a parent with a deaf child, there is a lot of truth in it. - it could be about my son William. It was a good feeling to read something that hit the nail on the head when describing the behaviour of little deaf people. William aged 6, was impressed that a book had an implant. He enjoyed the book too!"


Andrew and William Palmer
RNID


BATOD British Association of Teachers of the Deaf

10/30/2008 9:00:00 AM Corinda Carnelly - Teacher of the Deaf, London Borough of Croydon


The book is well produced. Andy Elliott's illustrations would be appealing to any child. It would be ideal for a parent to share with a hearing sibling, and is a good addition to any staff library."


Corinda Carnelly Teacher of the Deaf
BATOD


Review of My Brother John by Faye aged 7

7/22/2008 9:48:32 AM Faye cochlear implant user


This book is fabulous.Sometimes people say to me, "What's that thing on your head?" and now I know what to say! It's not magic, it's an implant" like Caroline. My Favourite picture is when they went shopping because all the food's falling out and John's hooked soemthing on the coat hanger!. I showed it to my class and the children thought it was really good.


Faye
a cochlear implant user


Review of My Brother John by Dr Mark Gray

3/22/2009 9:48:32 AM Mark Gray cochlear implant user


Neat book. I bought it for my hearing son since I was the one getting a CI. It seems to have been a hit as simple way of explaining what a CI is, and what it does and what that thing on Dad's head is all about. Good luck with more of the same.


Mark Gray
A cochlear implant user and parent


Jewish Deaf Assoc

11/30/2008 9:00:00 AM Jody - The Jewish Deaf Association


It is really sweet and child friendly.


Jody
JDA


Teacher of the deaf

6/3/2010 9:00:00 AM Gaynor Stone - CAEDHH Certified Teacher of the Deaf and Hard of hearing


My Brother John is a delightful little book, easy to read and a fun story line. It deals in a lighthearted way with the questions many children have about implants, what they do and how they work. There are not enough books aimed at the siblings of deaf children so this hits the spot. Well Done.


Gaynor Stone
CAEDHH Certified Teacher of the Deaf and Hard of hearing


My Brother John on Facebook

Become a Fan

Post your own review?

Tell us what you like and dislike and we'll post your review! Add your review.

Social inclusion

If you are a professional and want to add a review, you can help us to promote social inclusion.